National Stand-Up Paddleboard Championships – BSUPA

2018 date: 13 & 14 October 2018

Back at Watergate Bay for the 10th anniversary of the BSUPA Championships.

Take a look at all the action from 2017

BSUPA 2017 Championships – Watergate Bay from Kieran Brimson on Vimeo.

Film by Kieran Brimson

2017 event: 23 & 24 September 2017


BSUPA, the British National SUP surf championships returned to Watergate Bay in September. The championships are the country’s premier SUP Surf competition, and the second leg of the 2017 series.

2017 BSUPA National SUP Surf Championships – Watergate Bay

Open Men
1st Matt Barker Smith
2nd Aaron Rowe
3rd Blue Ewer
4th Ollie Shilston

Open Women
1st Marie Buchanan
2nd Tina Beresford
3rd Cal Mayor
4th Elle Veale

Under 16 Boys
1st Blue Ewer
2nd Aidan Pilot

Under 16 Girls
1st Annabel Page

Big Wave Expression Session
1st Matt Barker Smith
2nd Dave Ewer
3rd Ollie Shilston

2017 Watergate Bay Waterman – Matt Barker Smith
2017 Watergate Bay Waterwoman – Marie Buchanan

BSUPA 2017 Watergate Bay ©BobBerry5 BSUPA 2017 Watergate Bay ©BobBerry5 BSUPA 2017 Watergate Bay ©BobBerry5 BSUPA 2017 Watergate Bay ©BobBerry5 BSUPA 2017 Watergate Bay ©BobBerry5 BSUPA 2017 Watergate Bay ©BobBerry5 BSUPA 2017 Watergate Bay ©BobBerry5


2016 event: 1 & 2 September 2016

Hosted by Extreme Academy, last year’s eighth British Stand Up Paddleboard Association (BSUPA) National Surf Championships landed at Watergate Bay over the weekend of Saturday 1 – Sunday 2 October 2016.

Britain’s premiere SUP surf-only event saw the country’s best stand up paddle surfers battle it out for the national crown. And with Cornwall’s notorious autumn swells already firing everything was crossed for good waves over the weekend.

Over the course of the two days there were three main competitions, Men’s Open, Women’s Open, & Junior Under 16s, with the finalists in both the Men’s Open and Women’s Open legible for team selection to represent Team GB in next year’s ISA Stand Up Paddleboard World Championships.

The exclusive trophy of Watergate Bay Waterman or Watergate Bay Waterwomen will also be presented by Watergate Bay Hotel – the winners receiving dinner for two in The Beach Hut, situated right on the beach overlooking Watergate Bay.

BSUPA 2015
BSUPA 2015

The event is run by the British Stand Up Paddleboard Association, a non-profit sporting association, established to promote a positive awareness to the sport in the UK and abroad.

Richard Marsh, event director, commented: “Year on year we see the level of competition increase, and this year will be no exception. With the spotlight on two-time champion Matt Baker-Smith and last year’s winner Tina Barefoot, all is set for a great weekend of competition”.

Want to enter?

Entries can be made via online booking only, with no entries taken on the day. Full terms and conditions for entry will be available on-line via booking site which will go live earlier September.

Further information will be posted on BSUPA website in coming days. For specific information contact Competition Organizer Richard Marsh via e-mail: [email protected]

BSUPA 2015

2016 results

Open Men
1st Aaran Rowe
2nd Matt Barker Smith
3rd Ollie Laddieman
4th Max Sheppard

Open Women
1st Tina Beresford
2nd Maria Buchanan
3rd Nikki Graham
4th Tarryn Brown

Under 16 Boys
1st Ben Pye
2nd Blue Ewer
3rd James Green Wood
4th Todd Sawyer

Watergate Bay Waterman – Aaran Rowe
Watergate Bay Waterwomen – Tina Beresford

Photo credit: BSUPA/BobBerry/RobJewell

3 thoughts on “National Stand-Up Paddleboard Championships – BSUPA

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *