English National Surfing Championships 2018

Back to blog

This year's Kings and Queens of the waves have been crowned. The UK’s top surfers gathered at Watergate Bay over Bank Holiday weekend, Saturday 5 – Monday 7 May 2018 to compete for national titles.

With consistent swell predicted over the course of the weekend – The longest-running surfing contest in the country welcomed the UK’s top surfers to Watergate Bay. Although the coastline had been engulfed in thick sea fog, sunshine was just visible through the mist and the surfers rose to the challenge to compete for National titles.

Bank holiday vibes were in full force over the weekend. Event partners provided the relaxed competition areas with DJ’s for entertainment and watchers of the sport could kick back and relax in deck chairs, while chatting to friendly surfers. The event provided an excellent excuse for members of the community to come together and engage with the teams involved and enjoy the opportunity to celebrate the sport.

Devon local, Lucy Campbell fought off competitors to retain her title. The men’s open final was described by some after as one of the most progressive, high quality and electrifying finals to come out of England in decades. As Reubyn Ash took to the air, Will Bailey power hacked, Luke Dillon chucked buckets and Miles Lee-Hargreaves rotated above the lip to the joy of all watching, the judges had non stop action to officiate over. In the end Reubyn took the win to retain his champion title.

The Beach Hut’s outdoor deck area provided the perfect viewing platform to soak up the action.

2018-english-national-surfing-championships-3.jpg (1)

2018 Champions

With 170+ entries across 19 divisions, from 8 years old to mid 50’s, shortboard to longboard, the champions have been announced.

English National Surfing Championship Final 2018 Results
Under 12 Boys sponsored by 110% Surfing Techniques
1 Lukas Skinner
2 Heath Giilespie
3 Nikita Petrov
4 Arthur Randell

Under 12 Girls sponsored by 110% Surfing Techniques
1 Lauren Sandland
2 Eva Blackford
3 Belle Betteridge
4 Sienna Morison

Under 14 Girls
1 Tegan Blackford
2 Asha Sykes

Under 14 Boys
1 Sam Hearn
2 Max Miller Cooley
3 Alex Townsend
4 Kieron Smith

Boys Longboard Under 18 sponsored by Gul
1 Jordan Zervas
2 Lloyd Stein
3 Barnaby Innes
4 Arthur Randell

Girls Longboard Under 18 sponsored by Gul
1 Emily Wells
2 Stella Briggs
3 Tegan Blackford
4 Annie Young

Womens Masters
1 Jenny Pendlebury
2 Andrea Lawrence
3 Ingrid Morrison

Mens Masters
1 Rob Watson
2 Sam Smart
3 Joel Gray
4 Andrew Stone

Womens Open Longboard sponsored by Gul
1 Emily Currie
2 Beth Leighfield
3 Jenny Briant
4 Tina Beresford

Mens Open Longboard sponsored by Gul
1 Adam Griffiths
2 Sam Bleakley
3 Ben Howey
4 Lewis Stritch

Under 16 Girls sponsored by O’neill
1 Francesca Sayer
2 Bonita Whitelock
3 Iris Tanner
4 Esmee Gregorius
5 Bo Niblett

Under 16 Boys sponsored by O’neill
1 Will Masterman
2 Maximilian Hudson
3 Sol Hawkins
4 Noah Capps

Veterans Open
1 Mike Young
2 Roger Knight
3 David Gander
4 Darren Burrett

Mens Seniors
1 Josh Ward
2 Joss Ash
3 Luke Embleton
4 Adam Alexander Parkinson

Under 18 Girls sponsored by O’neill
1 Lily Pierce
2 Amy Dyer
3 Mischa Maguire
4 Lily Mandeville

Under 18 Boys sponsored by O’neill
1 Seth Morris
2 Will Gale
3 Stanley Norman
4 Kamron Matthews

Womens Open sponsored by Jolly Brown
1 Lucy Campbell
2 Ellen Harding
3 Emily Currie
4 Tassy Swallow

Mens Open sponsored by Stance
1 Reubyn Ash
2 Luke Dillon
3 Will Bailey
4 Miles Lee-Hargreaves


Thank you to Caravan & Motorhome Club, Korev Lager, Surfdome, Jeep, The Wave, Stance, Hippeas, Pukka Herbs, GoPro, Redbull, Jolly Brown, Quiksilver, Roxy, 110% Surfing Techniques, Gul, Dryobe, Pacsafe, O’Neill Wetsuits and thank you to everyone who made the effort to come and watch the competition, without you none of this would have been possible.

If you fancy getting to grips with surfing you’re first lesson needs to be with the Extreme Academy at Watergate Bay. Check availability and book.