English National Surfing Championships

Back to blog
Surfing England returned to Watergate Bay in September for the 2021 Caravan and Motorhome Club English National Surfing Championships.
We've been home to the Surfing Nationals for many years and are always proud to welcome the annual event back to our shoreline.
2021 English National Surfing Championships 239

The weekend of back-to-back heats and double-peak surfing, a huge support crew and over 160 surfers came together to compete to claim an English Champion title. 

Surf conditions were firing and performances amongst the waves were a real spectacle for those watching from the beach. 

2021 English National Surfing Championships Lukas Skinner

Results 2021

36 surfers competed and the final four charged through the rounds in an endurance test on Saturday. 
Luke Dillon took the Men's Champion Title in a competitive final on Sunday. 

After three days of heats, it was Groms Alys Barton who placed 2nd and Lauren Sandland at just 15 years old, who took the Women's Champion title. 

Renowned multi-disciplined surfer Emily Currie, took the Women's Longboard Champion spot continuing her victory as Boardmaster's Longboard Champion in August. 

Experienced competitors, Ben Skinner and Sam Bleakley battled it out for the Men's Longboard Chamption until the last wave of the heat where Ben took the top spot. Ben is currently 5th in the world for longboarding and has the WSL Longboard Champ title in his sights. 

2021 English National Surfing Championships Ben Skinner

Results continued

Junior Division
The boys’ categories saw a great turn out and for some of the U12s, after no competition last year, taking those Champion spots was a true highlight of their year. 

The U14s, U16s, and U18s heats for boys and girls lit up the beach on Friday, in arguably the best conditions of the weekend with clean lines gracing Watergate Bay. Aerials were on show from Lucas Skinner and Stanley Norman, whilst the other groms look on to learn these skills. Fierce cutbacks and amplifying amounts of spray were powered off turns, showing the judges the high calibre of surfing.

U12 Boys Shortboard

1 Isaac Friend 2 Noah Renaud 3 Sebastian Connolly 4 Harvey James Waters

U12 Girls Shortboard

1 Bethan Davies 2 Sunny Ingram 3 Harlyn Sykes 4 Hazel Bennett

U14 Boys Shortboard

1 Lukas Skinner 2 Reen Bowden-Inoue 3 Finley Donovan 4 Sammy Woolf

U14 Girls Shortboard

1 Eva Blackford 2 Boe Howell 3 Lilly Issberner

U16 Boys Shortboard

1 Arthur Randell 2 Elliot Barton 3 Otis Perry 4 Ishka Thres

U16 Girls Shortboard

1 Belle Betteridge 2 Lauren Sandland 3 Eva Moorcraft-Holland 4 Rosie Thomas

U18 Boys Shortboard

1 Stanley Norman 2 Sam Hearn 3 Keiron Smith 4 Beau Betteridge

U18 Girls Shortboard 

1 Alys Barton 2 Tegan Blackford 3 Asha Sykes 4 Sofia Louise Gooding

U18 Boys Longboard

1 Arthur Randell 2 Gwillym King 3 Syd Randell 4 Jacob Morrall

Men’s Masters (35+)

1 Joss Ash 2 Joel Gray 3 Matt Harwood 4 Simon Nicholson

Men’s Kahunas (45+)

1 Roger Knight 2 Lee Griffin 3 Paul Kirby 4 Ian Peter Warkick

Women’s Open Longboard

1 Emily Currie 2 Tina Beresford 3 Beth Leighfield 4 Jennifer Pendlebury

Men’s Open Longboard

1 Ben Skinner 2 Sam Bleakly 3 Jack Gregorius 4 Ashley Braunton

Women’s Open Shortboard

1 Lauren Sandland 2 Alys Barton 3 Lucy Campbell 4 Emily Currie

Men’s Open Shortboard

1 Luke Dillon 2 Stanley norman 3 Joss Ash 4 Beau Bromham

English National Surfing Championships 2018

The 2018 Kings and Queens of the waves have been crowned. The UK’s top surfers gathered at Watergate Bay over Bank Holiday weekend, Saturday 5 – Monday 7 May 2018 to compete for national titles.

2018 English National Championships

With consistent swell predicted over the course of the weekend – The longest-running surfing contest in the country welcomed the UK’s top surfers to Watergate Bay. Although the coastline had been engulfed in thick sea fog, sunshine was just visible through the mist and the surfers rose to the challenge to compete for National titles.

Bank holiday vibes were in full force over the weekend. Event partners provided the relaxed competition areas with DJ’s for entertainment and watchers of the sport could kick back and relax in deck chairs, while chatting to friendly surfers. The event provided an excellent excuse for members of the community to come together and engage with the teams involved and enjoy the opportunity to celebrate the sport.

Devon local, Lucy Campbell fought off competitors to retain her title. The men’s open final was described by some after as one of the most progressive, high quality and electrifying finals to come out of England in decades. As Reubyn Ash took to the air, Will Bailey power hacked, Luke Dillon chucked buckets and Miles Lee-Hargreaves rotated above the lip to the joy of all watching, the judges had non stop action to officiate over. In the end Reubyn took the win to retain his champion title.

English National surfing championships 2018


Results 2018

With 170+ entries across 19 divisions, from 8 years old to mid 50’s, shortboard to longboard, the champions have been announced.

English National Surfing Championship Final 2018 Results
Under 12 Boys sponsored by 110% Surfing Techniques
1 Lukas Skinner
2 Heath Giilespie
3 Nikita Petrov
4 Arthur Randell

Under 12 Girls sponsored by 110% Surfing Techniques
1 Lauren Sandland
2 Eva Blackford
3 Belle Betteridge
4 Sienna Morison

Under 14 Girls
1 Tegan Blackford
2 Asha Sykes

Under 14 Boys
1 Sam Hearn
2 Max Miller Cooley
3 Alex Townsend
4 Kieron Smith

Boys Longboard Under 18 sponsored by Gul
1 Jordan Zervas
2 Lloyd Stein
3 Barnaby Innes
4 Arthur Randell

Girls Longboard Under 18 sponsored by Gul
1 Emily Wells
2 Stella Briggs
3 Tegan Blackford
4 Annie Young

Womens Masters
1 Jenny Pendlebury
2 Andrea Lawrence
3 Ingrid Morrison

Mens Masters
1 Rob Watson
2 Sam Smart
3 Joel Gray
4 Andrew Stone

Womens Open Longboard sponsored by Gul
1 Emily Currie
2 Beth Leighfield
3 Jenny Briant
4 Tina Beresford

Mens Open Longboard sponsored by Gul
1 Adam Griffiths
2 Sam Bleakley
3 Ben Howey
4 Lewis Stritch

Under 16 Girls sponsored by O’neill
1 Francesca Sayer
2 Bonita Whitelock
3 Iris Tanner
4 Esmee Gregorius
5 Bo Niblett

Under 16 Boys sponsored by O’neill
1 Will Masterman
2 Maximilian Hudson
3 Sol Hawkins
4 Noah Capps

Veterans Open
1 Mike Young
2 Roger Knight
3 David Gander
4 Darren Burrett

Mens Seniors
1 Josh Ward
2 Joss Ash
3 Luke Embleton
4 Adam Alexander Parkinson

Under 18 Girls sponsored by O’neill
1 Lily Pierce
2 Amy Dyer
3 Mischa Maguire
4 Lily Mandeville

Under 18 Boys sponsored by O’neill
1 Seth Morris
2 Will Gale
3 Stanley Norman
4 Kamron Matthews

Womens Open sponsored by Jolly Brown
1 Lucy Campbell
2 Ellen Harding
3 Emily Currie
4 Tassy Swallow

Mens Open sponsored by Stance
1 Reubyn Ash
2 Luke Dillon
3 Will Bailey
4 Miles Lee-Hargreaves

Thank you

Thank you to Surfing England for bringing the action to Watergate Bay.

Caravan Motorhome Club, Red Bull,Nick Hounsfield at The Wave, Korev lager, Decathlon, dryrobe, Surfdome and media partners Panoptic Motion.

See you next year!